News:

FOR INFORMATION ON DONATIONS, AND HOW TO OBTAIN ACCESS TO THE GAME, PLEASE VIEW THE FOLLOWING TOPIC: http://stick-online.com/boards/index.php?topic=2.0

Main Menu

game speed.

Started by ARTgames, October 24, 2009, 06:53:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ARTgames

My simple suggestion would be just to run the game at 60 fps. A lot of games of today shoot for that goal. This will make the jumping and moving of the stick people / monsters seem munch more fluid. And i feel like in a fighting action game like this one having more fluid motion really makes the game more enjoyable.

This idea is for stick online 2 and 3. But i know with stick online 2 there will need to be more work to make sure everything works at the speed its suppose to.

But most of all its easy to implement.

God-I-Suck

I'm not really an expert on this, but wouldn't having 60 frames make Stick Online half as fast? But I guess he could just double the speed. Anyway, Isn't stick online smooth already? lul, but yeah, my game runs on 30 fps like 98% of the time, so I guess 60 wouldn't be a problem for me.

NotoriousM4^

I dunno, I mean sometimes with a pvp type game, fluidity can become a bad thing.

ARTgames

Quote from: God-I-Suck on October 24, 2009, 07:25:27 PM
I'm not really an expert on this, but wouldn't having 60 frames make Stick Online half as fast?

other way around. Your getting twice as many frames in the same about of time.

QuoteI dunno, I mean sometimes with a pvp type game, fluidity can become a bad thing.

Nope. it makes it better because the motions of the stick people will be smother making it easier to see what is going on. The more fps the better.

Quote from: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frame_ratea low frame rate will not be able to give the illusion of motion effectively and will affect the user's capacity to interact with the game while a frame rate unsynchronised with the display device will show 'choppy' movement.

Mr Pwnage